Support Your Supporters

 

None of us go through life alone. We are surrounded by friends and family that we rely on, sometime just to make it through the day. I know this is true for me. I have wonderful people who care about me enough to put up with me.

What I worry about is leaning on them too much. I worry that I am being selfish, taking advantage of the offered help. If I point out these feelings, they tend to get irritated with me. People who love you tend to be funny that way. Instead I do what any good friend or loved one would do, I make the same effort for them that they have made for me.

I make it a point to listen, to offer a shoulder, to offer a hand, or just a hug because they look like they needed it.

In the end that is really all I can do to repay the debt I owe those who give so much.

3 thoughts on “Support Your Supporters

  1. Kira,
    I know exactly what you mean. Sometimes you have to stop thinking about yourself and think about others. Support those loved ones around you, especially if they’ve helped you. Sometimes all they need is to have someone listen to them. It’s so important that we keep that healthy balance between our needs and our loved ones needs.
    Katie

Leave a Reply

