Trans Bodies, Cis Words – Proud Queer (PQ Monthly – Daily Online)

Trans Bodies, Cis Words – Proud Queer (PQ Monthly – Daily Online):

“When my transition began, I believed it was incumbent on me to ‘pass’ the moment I stepped outside. Having been raised with unquestioned cissexism, cis male and cis female were the only genders I considered valid.

My failure, my inability to impersonate a cis woman, plunged me into shame. Transmisogyny had taught me I was an abomination, not fit to be among cis people.

With daily effort, I’ve worked to rid my mind of the prejudices that led to my self-loathing, yet I still see them, in all their ugliness, informing our language, laws, and culture.”

3 thoughts on “Trans Bodies, Cis Words – Proud Queer (PQ Monthly – Daily Online)

Leave a Reply

