Religious Colleges Obtain Waivers to Law That Protects Transgender Students – The New York Times

Religious Colleges Obtain Waivers to Law That Protects Transgender Students – The New York Times:

“More than two dozen religiously affiliated colleges and universities across the United States have received exemptions from the federal civil rights protections provided under Title IX since 2014, documents show, waivers that activists said allow them to discriminate against students and employees on the basis of categories like sexual orientation and gender identity.”

(Via.)

One thought on “Religious Colleges Obtain Waivers to Law That Protects Transgender Students – The New York Times

  1. *
    These universities may receive their waivers but I got more on them. I attended and graduated from one of those well-known Christian Conservative universities. I also appeared in a group student photograph on the front cover of their school catalogue.

    Their admissions policy was quite clear when I attended – no homosexuals and transsexuals allowed as either students, faculty, or employees.

    Yet there I was for two years plus a few courses post-grad. I made the Dean’s List during one semester and was a well-respected student. There is nothing they can do to take away my credits.

    I see it that my secret is more powerfull than their discrimination. I attended in ‘stealth’ much as I did everything else in those days. I set to prove that they would accept me and they did.

    Okay, maybe they need to accept us ‘out’ rather than in the closet. The way I see it, if enough of us register and attend classes without their awares, sooner or later we will change them from the inside, they will recognise us as normal as anyone else, and they will open their schools to those who are ‘out’.

    Yep. It’s my secret. And i get to smirk as they squirm at these stories.
    *

Leave a Reply

