A conversation: Beginning

It has been a long time since we sat down, just the two of us and had a conversation. A simple thing, nothing held back, nothing hidden. The sad thing is, I’m not sure if I remember how to speak this way. It has been so long since I looked into your eyes and saw the hope, the fear. Even without words I could feel your pain.

I wonder what might have been if I could have held you. Took you into my arms and whispered promises I couldn’t keep. There was a distance I could not close, a barrier I could not cross. Even now, all of these lifetimes later, I weep with the memory of you walking away, the fear in your heart greater even than our desire to be one. I was left to watch from behind your eyes, to hear the distant echo of your heart beating knowing it could never be mine.

2 thoughts on “A conversation: Beginning

Leave a Reply

