Another challenge for transgender people: Choosing a new name – The Washington Post

Another challenge for transgender people: Choosing a new name – The Washington Post:

“Some pore through baby-name books. Or think back to favorite movie stars or characters from fiction. Many turn to a family tree, hunting for inspiration among beloved relatives and long-lost ancestors.”

One thought on “Another challenge for transgender people: Choosing a new name – The Washington Post

  1. *
    First name can be as complicated as last name.

    I originally liked my first name of my own choosing at age eight on its own merits; my mom could not insult me from it. Eventually, the name took on special reference at age 12 which compelled me to want to keep it that much more.

    Some family refused to accept my new first name. Those who use it say it with derision.

    Most family were angered that I changed my last name. Odd since they rejected me. Why would they object to my changed last name if they wanted me expelled from the family? It would seem more my afront if I kept the old last name.

    So it is with the course of transition and family relationships.

    *

Leave a Reply

