These trans kids are telling us everything we need to know about bathrooms

These trans kids are telling us everything we need to know about bathrooms:

“It’s now been more than a full year since the campaign against the Houston Equal Rights Ordinance (HERO) thrust bathrooms into the political limelight. Since then, North Carolina’s HB2 and nationwide backlash to the Obama administration’s guidance for inclusive facilities have made bathrooms one of the most prominent debates in schools and communities across the country. With the Supreme Court poised to consider a case about whether a high school boy can use the boys’ bathroom, the kids most impacted by these debates are speaking out for themselves.”

(Via. Think progress)

One thought on “These trans kids are telling us everything we need to know about bathrooms

  1. *
    This bathroom debate has only become a recent issue because the people running it are grasping at their last straw before their ideological demise.

    There was no issue in the ‘old days’. My public school raised no objection when I used the girl’s room (Kindergarten and 1st Grade during early 1960s). Only the nuns when I changed to Catholic school at 2nd Grade made an issue.

    Nor was this an issue once I got to transition. I was doing my ‘best’ to present as male because I had not come out to my employer.

    There came that time at my ‘male fail’ (early 1980s) when my employer might very well have required me to use the female facility. My definite feminine appearance was upsetting the men who saw me in the men’s room.

    *

Leave a Reply

