How I learnt not to feel a fraud in calling myself a woman – I am Antonia Michele

(A huge Thank You! to Antonia for allowing me to share this with all of you.)


How I learnt not to feel a fraud in calling myself a woman – I am Antonia Michele:

“So are you a woman? my wife asked. It felt weird answering ‘yes’.

At some level I am not a woman. I don’t have the body of a woman, I don’t share the life experiences of a woman. I have grown up with both the privilege accorded to an English male and without being ‘hassled’ in the way many women are.  My body is male, biologically I am male and always will be. And I am not unhappy about that. I can’t change that even if I wished so why fret over things I cannot change?  And truthfully I haven’t always known that I was ‘a woman’, transgender, trapped in the wrong body. I am not sure that I really experience dysphoria, at least not in the way I read that others do.

And, maybe in 4-6 months, after waiting more than a year, I’ll get my first appointment with the Gender Identity Clinic (GIC) in London and will find out if they will allow my transition. Except that my transition is ‘well under way’. No one has the right, nor the wisdom, to be able to say whether I am transgender or not. Only me. So am I and if so how do I know?”

Leave a Reply

