26 Things You Do As An Adult When You’ve Experienced Childhood Emotional Abuse

26 Things You Do As An Adult When You’ve Experienced Childhood Emotional Abuse:

“When growing up, the raising that we receive has much to do with our coping skills as an adult. And I have noticed that I, and other victims of emotional abuse, have certain behaviors that separate us from the rest. If you, or someone you know was a victim of abuse, then you may want to read through these. Just being able to understand where another person is coming from, or understanding yourself better, can make all the difference.”

(Via. social-consciousness.com)

2 thoughts on “26 Things You Do As An Adult When You’ve Experienced Childhood Emotional Abuse

  1. Thank you for this. I needed to see it today. This list captures my adult life experience perfectly, and it helps me take comfort in knowing I’m not crazy. I was physically and emotionally abused by an older sibling, and then later in life went through several emotionally abusive relationships with significant others. I think the relationship with my older sibling did the most damage, because the abuse started when I was an infant. I don’t remember a lot of it (from what I’ve been told), but I do remember a few very traumatic, physically painful incidents between the ages of 3-8. I never really realized the extent of that damage until adulthood. I’m 43 now and I still experience almost all 26 of the symptoms on the list you shared.

Leave a Reply

