Staying the Course, Bloody Though It Be

I had a therapy session today which thankfully went well with us being able to clear up a number of misunderstandings.

We talked about what I had written the past several days and I think we can work forward on a number of issues which while not being directly tied to my transition are things which are holding me back in this and many other areas of my life.

It’s amazing and terrifying how things from a lifetime ago can still hold such power over us in ways we might not be aware of. For me there were years of abuse on multiple levels, many of them on a daily even hourly basis. Emotional, phycological, spiritual, and physical which culminated in me trying to do the impossible… to take responsibility for others happiness. It also lead directly to my identity issues, my feelings of failure, of never being good enough or being worthy of happiness. These are the things which aren’t going to disappear even if I was able to fully transition this very moment. If I want to move beyond simple survival to truly living the life I know deep down I deserve, I must overcome them. 

This isn’t going to be simple, quick, or painless, none the less it is something which I must to do and I’m going to need someone who has gained an understanding of my background, who has seen and heard the way I think and the ways I deal with crisis, which is why I feel it best to stay with Jodi instead of having to start over again with someone new. 


2 thoughts on “Staying the Course, Bloody Though It Be

  1. Gaining clarity with your therapist is a huge thing. I’m glad that happened for you.

    I spent nearly a year going from being told that I am not responsible for other people’s happiness OR their choices, to where I finally felt it and understood it in my heart. We tore down a lot of false guilt I’d placed upon myself and it was liberating to work through, once it was done. During the process, it was exhausting.

    I’m glad you’re finding a path forward, Kira. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

